Who took the awards home in the 69th National Film Awards 2023?

Share This

A Legacy of Excellence

The National Film Awards, initiated in 1954 as ‘State Awards,’ have evolved to recognize excellence in various regional languages. Awards for actors and technicians followed in 1967, with Nargis and Uttam Kumar among the early winners. In the 68th National Film Awards, “Soorarai Pottru” dominated, securing awards in five categories.

The 69th National Film Awards, a hallmark of Indian cinema excellence, announced its winners in a dazzling ceremony. Here’s a summary of who took the awards home in the film industry. 

Best Actor: Allu Arjun in Pushpa: The Rise

“Pushpa, Pushpa Raj Jhukega nahi!” stood tall against all odds. Allu Arjun’s compelling performance in “Pushpa: The Rise” earned him the prestigious Best Actor award.

Best Actresses: Alia Bhatt and Kriti Sanon

During the Awards ceremony, Alia Bhatt like her character shone bright like a moon, for her portrayal in “Gangubai Kathiawadi,” as she took home the Best Actress National Award 2023.  But Bhatt wasn’t the only best Actress this year, Kriti Sanon, for her role in “Mimi,” also took home the best Actress National Award 2023 and the critics couldn’t have been happier about it.

Best Feature Film: Rocketry: The Nambi Effect

“Rocketry: The Nambi Effect” soared high, clinching the Best Feature Film award. India has been reaching newer heights in every field this year!

Nargis Dutt Award: The Kashmir Files

“The Kashmir Files” amidst all the controversies received the Nargis Dutt Award for Best Film on National Integration.

Sardar Udham Triumphs

Shoojit Sircar’s “Sardar Udham” shone bright, securing multiple accolades: Best Hindi Film, Best Cinematography (Avik Mukhopadhyay), Best Audiography (Sinoy Joseph), Best Production Design (Dmitrii Malich and Mansi Dhruv Mehta), and Best Costume Design (Veera Kapur Ee).


The 69th National Film Awards celebrated exceptional talent in Indian cinema, honoring captivating performances and remarkable filmmaking. These awards continue to inspire and recognize the industry’s dedication to artistic and technical excellence.